Cumberland and the Sneech Pond Copper Mine

Started by Tendonitis, July 10, 2010, 08:00:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hey everyone, I'm new to the Urban Exploration culture, very new. last night i found an art photographer who specialized in abandon buildings all over europe, and accidentally stumbled on UE, I've been reading about it for hours.
I've lived all over the States. in Lebanon, NH there is an abandoned train yard with some dilapitated and beautifully epic buildings. In nearly the center of downtown Dallas is a well guarded high school that is enormous and ancient. Surounding Santa Fe out in the desert are great silos and hundreds of empty shacks beside the highways.
Through all of those places and my pawing fascination, I never knew there was a culture of people who shared my interest! although, i never looked hard enough for one.
Anyway, im back in my town of birth, good ol' Cumberland, RI and now that im in the smallest town, im looking into UE. So, i read one forum entry about Sneech Pond (which is a very funny name) and a copper mine, i found this exta long document that I have to continue going through:
http://www.minsocam.org/ammin/AM22/AM22_279.pdf
and now I was just wondering if anyone had helpful hints for someone in my position, anything helps, thank you!

Welcome to IB forum! First helpful hint for urban exploring: Take only photos, leave only footprints!
Huzzah!!

thanks, that advise is actually what I like most about the hobby as a whole. im not a vandal or a forest partier, i just enjoy the rush of exploring and experimenting with exposures and angles. something that i think a lot of us have in common. thanks for the welcome Stealth

Welcome! Good to have a new member on board.

If you decide to go, be very careful in the mine. That train yard you were talking about sounds fantastic! Do you have any pictures?