Film making in abandoned buildings?

Started by roggah, September 25, 2004, 03:59:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hi, I'm just getting started with urban exploration and want to ask for help from anyone with some experience.

I live in Staten Island, NY and shot a short movie in a local abandoned hospital. I was hoping to find remnants of Mt. Loretto, but they've completely renovated it :|. I'll be visiting my cousin in Boston soon to be given a tour of the areas he knows (he says he's been exploring for a while). My friend's sister turned me on to sites such as these, and she knows a lot about the New England area.

I'm a film student who's obsessed with the Silent Hill series, Jacob's Ladder, Session 9, etc. I have a longterm project that will rely heavily on abandoned buildings, and I'd like to ask from help from anyone on what I can do.

I know this is a little different, since I doubt most areas would be so easy to get access to as the hospital near me. The more I read the more I realize the art of successfully getting through these places. It was tough enough shooting in the (forbidden) back corridors of my mall, having to move the tripod/etc into a corner and hide whenever we heard footsteps coming near.

Anyway, hope I get to know all of you, and hope I can prove that I'm very serious about this. Even if you can't have advice on shooting, I would love to join any groups just based on the rush I got discovering the abandoned hospital near me. Phenomenal.

September 25, 2004, 04:54:13 PM #1 Last Edit: September 25, 2004, 04:55:42 PM by Skully
Welcome roggah.  Make yourself at home.  I think between this site the loads of other ones out there (see the links page here), you'll get a good feel for what's out there.  On top of what's published is a whole slew of other "tougher" places to check out.